ASNT… Creating a Safer World! ™

Ward Rummel Engineering Excellence Award

This Award has been renamed in Honor of Ward D. Rummel for his pioneering work in NDT engineering, the creation of the ASNT Engineering Council, and for inspiring engineering concepts.

The Ward Rummel Engineering Excellence Award is to recognize outstanding sustained contributions in NDT engineering by a single individual.


A candidate for this recognition must have made outstanding, sustain contributions to the field of NDT Engineering.


Self-nominations for the Award are not accepted. Nominations must consist of:

  • A letter of nomination with a summary of applicable achievements and contributions of the nominee in the field of NDT/NDE Engineering.
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Two (2) letters of support

Click Here to Submit Your Nomination Online


The ASNT Awards and Honors Council selects one individual per year. Recipients may be invited to speak about their work at an ASNT conference.

Award Timeline

Application deadline: 31 March

For any questions regarding the award process or timeline, please contact ASNT’s Program Specialist at

Rummel Engineering Excellence Recipients

2022 Recipient

Congratulations to Bill Prosser for receiving the 2022 Ward Rummel Engineering Excellence Award.

Rummel Engineering Excellence Past Recipients

Past Recipients

View the full list of past recipients.