ASNT… Creating a Safer World! ™

2022 Philip D. Johnson Honorary Member Award Recipient

Ron Botsko is the 2022 Philip D. Johnson Honorary Member Award Recipient 

Ron Botsko graduated from the Case Institute of Technology (now Case Western Reserve University). Immediately following graduation, he worked as a metallurgical development engineer at the Youngstown Sheet and Tube Company. In 1962, he joined the Los Angeles Aerospace Division of North American Aviation (NAA) as a titanium development engineer. He changed positions to a nondestructive testing (NDT) research and development engineer in 1963. 
He became closely associated with legendary mentors, including Don Erdman, Dr. Robert McMaster, and Philip D. Johnson, during his career. He and Dr. McMaster wrote three handbook chapters on microwave NDT. He’s also written sections on optical/acoustical holography, acoustic emission, and thermal infrared in an NDT Booklet for ASM/ASNT. 
In 1971, Ron founded NDT Instruments, Inc. in Newport Beach, CA, where he served as President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board. His previous ASNT honors include the Robert C. McMaster Gold Medal Award  (1983), Fellow of ASNT (1974), and 50 Year Member Recognition (2021).