ASNT… Creating a Safer World! ™

Research Recognition for Sustained Excellence

The Research Recognition for Sustained Excellence acknowledges outstanding sustained contributions in NDE/NDT research by a single individual.


Nominees must have made outstanding, sustained contributions in the field of NDE/NDT research.


Nominations must consist of:

  • A letter with a summary of important achievements and contributions of the nominee in the field of NDE/NDT
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • 2 letters of support

Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Click Here to Submit Your Nomination Online


The Non-Financial Recognition & Honors Committee selects up to one individual per year. The recipient is required to deliver a plenary address on his or her breakthrough during ASNT’s Research Symposium. If the presentation is not given, the Recognition may be retracted.

Award Timeline

  • Nomination deadline: 30 September
  • The Non-Financial Recognition and Honors Committee will provide its recommendation to the Board of Directors before or during ASNT’s Annual Conference
  • The recipient will be notified following the ASNT Annual Conference

For any questions regarding the award process or timeline, please contact ASNT’s Program Specialist at

2021 Recipient

Congratulations to Dr. Joseph Rose for receiving the 2021 Research Recognition for Sustained Excellence! Dr. Rose is the Paul Morrow Professor Emeritus in the Engineering Science and Mechanics department at Penn State University who retired from Penn State in 2019.

Past Recipients

Check out the full list of past recipients for the Research Recognition for Sustained Excellence