ASNT Standards

Elevating NDT Personnel Standards with ASNT

At ASNT, we are dedicated to setting and maintaining the highest standards for the qualification and certification of nondestructive testing (NDT) personnel. Our standards and recommended practices serve as pillars of excellence, guiding the NDT community towards unparalleled expertise and professionalism.

Empowering the NDT Community

Our standards and recommended practices are meticulously developed by ASNT committees, comprised of top NDT experts and industry professionals. These standards define the qualifications and certifications required for NDT personnel, ensuring they meet the demands of industries and governments worldwide. They also play a crucial role in elevating the professionalism, reliability, and safety of NDT personnel and the industries they serve. By adhering to these guidelines, NDT professionals can ensure that their work meets the highest standards, benefiting both their careers and the organizations they work for.

For more in-depth information about our standards and how they impact NDT personnel and industries, we invite you to explore our Standards Council and ANSI/ISO Technical Advisory Group (TAG). page. If you have any questions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us. Your commitment to excellence in NDT is our priority.


For inquiries regarding any of our standards and recommended practices, fill out the standards inquiry form and send to

Current Editions

CP-105 cover

ASNT Standard Topical Outlines for Qualification of Nondestructive Testing Personnel (2020)

Outlines the essential knowledge for training and certifying NDT personnel responsible for performing, specifying, reviewing, supervising, and evaluating NDT work.

CP-189 Cover

ASNT Standard for Qualification and Certification of Nondestructive Testing Personnel (2024)

Built upon SNT-TC-1A, this offers comprehensive minimum criteria for personnel certification, including requirements for NDT instructors and employer certification of Level I, II, and III personnel. Recommended to use alongside ANSI/ASNT CP-105.

CP-9712 Cover

ANSI/ASNT CP-9712:2023 (ISO 9712:2021):
Nondestructive Testing for Qualification and Certification of NDT Personnel (2023)

Provides the US with an American National Standard that incorporates the provisions of ISO 9712:2021, ensuring consistency and compatibility in NDT personnel certification standards at the international and national levels.

ILI-PQ Cover

In-line Inspection Personnel Qualification and Certification (2023)

Establishes requirements for in-line inspection personnel working with inspection technologies, operations, regulatory requirements, and industry standards for pipeline systems. The employer-based standard includes qualification and certification for Levels I, II, and III.


ASNT Recommended Practice No. SNT-TC-1A (2024)

Guidelines to create in-house NDT certification programs, outlining educational, experience, and training requirements for various methods. Recommended to use alongside ANSI/ASNT CP-105.