ASNT Central Certification Program Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  1. What is central certification?
    Central certification is the process of certification by an independent, nationally recognized body providing confidence to interested parties as to the program's validity, impartiality and integrity as it relates to the competence of personnel in the field of NDT.
  2. How does central certification differ from SNT-TC-1A certification?
    Certification in accordance with the guidelines ASNT Recommended Practice No. SNT-TC-1A is an employer-based system, meaning that the employer is responsible for the qualification and certification of their own personnel. Central certification is administered and maintained by an independent body that provides uniform certification requirements for all certificate holders.
  3. Who has the responsibility for certification of personnel?
    Regardless of the certification program, the ultimate responsibility for authorizing a person to perform NDT remains that of the employer.
  4. What is the difference between certificating and certification?
    "Certificating" is a term used to denote the issuance of a document attesting that the holder has met requirements of codes, standards or specifications. Certificating may be done by a third party and may be accepted as proof that the holder has met the published requirements. Certification is the written testimony of qualification or the procedures leading to that written testimony.
  5. What are the advantages of ASNT Central Certification Program to industry?
    The program elevates nondestructive testing as a profession. There are few other professions that even have employer-based certification. With central certification employers will be able to hire NDT personnel without the need to administer exams before they can begin work, a savings of time and money. It provides a uniform standard for the profession and brings more credibility to the industry. Significantly, it raises the quality bar for nondestructive testing.
  6. Why would I want my employees to become centrally certified?
    First, if your company wants or needs a way to comply with the Pressure Equipment Directive, the ASNT Central Certification Program provides a way for your centrally certified personnel to apply for EN 473 certification through RWTUV. Second, those having employees with the credential bring a clear market distinction to offer their customers when bidding for business.
  7. What codes or standards recognize ASNT Central Certification Program?
    The ASNT Central Certification Program is recognized by Sections I, V, VIII and XI of the ASME Boiler 7 & Pressure Vessel Code. ACCP is incorporated into Recommended Practice No. SNT-TC-1A, any code or specification that references SNT-TC-1A accepts ACCP certification.
  8. As an NDT practitioner, why would I want to become ASNT Centrally Certified?
    The ASNT Central Certification is a professional credential that demonstrates you have met the requirements of your industry or profession by passing examinations given by an independent certification body. As a third party issued certificate, this is a portable credential that goes with you wherever you work.
  9. What are the advantages of ASNT Central Certification Program to NDT users?
    Companies contracting for NDT services can select from contractors with personnel who have qualified to common examinations developed and administered by an independent third party rather than by the vendor.
  10. Is the ACCP Professional Level III credential as good as an ASNT NDT Level III?
    ASNT Central Certification Program requirements exceed those for ASNT NDT Level III certification.
  11. How can NDT personnel become ASNT Centrally Certified?
    Qualified NDT personnel can apply to ASNT to take ASNT Central Certification Program examinations. ASNT Central Certification Programs require the successful completion of examinations in any of five NDT test methods: MT, PT, UT, RT and VT. However, for a one-year period, from 1 October 2002 through 30 September 2003, Level II personnel certified in accordance with Recommended Practice No. SNT-TC-1A and Level IIIs holding currently valid ASNT NDT Level III certificates were permitted to transition into the ASNT Central Certification Program without examination.
  12. What is required for ASNT Central Certification?
    The ASNT Central Certification Program requires the successful completion of examinations in any of five NDT test methods: MT, PT, UT, RT and VT.
    Level II applicants have to pass these four examinations.
    • General Written Examination covers the fundamentals, principals and theory of the test method.
    • Specific Written Examination covers specific applications of the test method in accordance with codes and standards used in applicable Industry Sector.
    • Practical Examination applicants are required to demonstrate their ability to perform the test method on test samples containing known defects.
    • Instruction Preparation applicants are required to prepare a written instruction for the test method that is sufficiently detailed to permit another practitioner to recreate the same inspection.
    Level II certification can be attained in individual techniques within a test method or may cover all techniques.
    In addition to the prerequisite Level II qualifications and experience, Level III applicants must pass the following four examinations.
    • Basic Examination covers knowledge of certification processes, materials and processes and general knowledge of other NDT test methods.
    • Method Examination covers specific knowledge of that test method.
    • Practical Examination applicants are required to demonstrate their ability to perform the method on test samples containing known defects. Note: This examination is waived for personnel who took the Practical Examination as an ACCP Level II.
    • Procedure Preparation Examination applicants are required to write an NDT procedure based on a supplied NDT standard.
  13. In what methods can personnel certify under ACCP?
    Five methods are available: MT, PT, RT, UT and VT. If applying for PED approval through RWTUV, four methods are offered: MT, PT, RT and UT.
  14. Does ASNT Central Certification Program meet ISO 9712?
    ACCP was designed to comply with ISO 9712 and to be flexible based on the needs of the applicant. The ACCP document is compliant providing the applicant meets the training requirements as listed for ISO 9712.
  15. How long is ASNT Central Certification valid?
    The certificates for Level II and Professional Level IIIs are valid for a maximum of five years. If you're a current ASNT NDT Level III, your certificate expires after 9/04, and you prorate your fees, the initial ACCP certificate will expire on the same dates as your current certificate.